This is the "Home" page of the "Arkansas Legislative History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Arkansas Legislative History  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

Introductory Facts about the Arkansas General Assembly

The Arkansas General Assembly,, commonly called the Arkansas Legislature, is a 135-member body with 35 members in the Senate and 100 members in the House of Representatives.  

The General Assembly convenes on the second Monday of each year.  Until 2010 it only met during odd-numbered years.  The General Assembly holds fiscal sessions in even-numbered years and general sessions in odd-numbered years.  

A legislative sessions lasts 60 days unless the legislature votes to extend the session.  The governor may call a special session. 

Senate and House Contact Information

Arkansas Senate:  In session phone:  501-682-2902.  Out of session phone:  501-682-6107.

Arkansas House:  In session phone:  501-682-6211.  Out of session phone:  501-682-7771.

How a Bill Becomes a Law

Bureau of Legislative Research


Centralized staff for the General Assembly:  The Bureau of Legislative Research serves all 100 members of the House of Representatives and all 35 members of the Senate.  The Bureau of Legislative Research is a principal provider of services to the members of the General Assembly both during legislative sessions and during the interim in between sessions. The members of the General Assembly also receive services from their chamber (Senate or House of Representatives) and the Division of Legislative Audit.  

Contact Information for the Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR)

Bureau of Legislative Research, One Capitol Mall, 5th Floor, Little Rock, AR  72201. Telephone:  501-682-1937.  FAX:  501-682-1936.



Drafting Manuals


Loading  Loading...