This is the "Home" page of the "Attorney's Book Shelf" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Attorney's Book Shelf  

Check out these selected titles aimed to make your Practice, Career and Personal life easier to manage. You are invited to share your comments about how useful you find these titles!
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2012 URL: http://law.ualr.libguides.com/attorneys_book_shelf Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Services for Attorneys

We are here to assist you!  Please visit or call us for assistance with your research needs, document delivery or checking out library materials. Check out this home page for more informaiton!

Important numbers:

Circulation: 324-9444

Reference: 324-9970

Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loans:324-9991

Click on Meet your Law Librarians for a Directory with contact information.

Library Services for Attorneys

Reference

Reference librarians are available help attorneys with questions related to the use of library resources. Hours vary by semester. Reference librarians may:

  • help library users locate Law Library resources and materials
  • instruct in the use of electronic resources such as the online catalog
  • help you figure out legal citations
  • suggest appropriate sources and research strategies
  • refer users to other libraries or institutions when needed

Some questions are best researched in the law library. We may ask you to come to the law library to pursue your research here. The reference desk phone number is 501.324.9970.

      

    More Research Guides

    About the UALR/Pulaski County Law Library

    The UALR William H. Bowen School of Law Library is also the Pulaski County Law Library. It is funded by the Law School and by a portion of the Administration of Justice funds dedicated to county law libraries. This enriches its collection by providing a wide variety of practitioner-oriented materials.  Click on the "Law Library" link below for more information.

    Search our on-line catalog, "Themis" to locate materials. Click online catalog.  Call the Reference desk for assistance.

    Private Carrel with Computer for Attorney Use

    Attorneys may now reserve a private carrel with a computer equipped with word processing.  The public terminals behind the Reference desk do not have word or wordperfect.  Call the Circulation Desk at 324-9982 to reserve your time slot. Attorneys may use these databases at no charge!

    • WESTLAW: Over 2000 titles of primary and secondary authority including ALR's, Encyclopedias, Restatements, Forms and selected treatises.
    • Shepards and Key Cite
    • BNA-ALL: Titles include U.S. Law Week, Tax management portfolios and ABA/BNA Lawyers Manual on Professional Responsibility. Other subject areas covered include titles in labor, environment and health.

    Click on Other Databases for a list of titles that you can use while in the Law Library.  There is no charge for using these databases!

    Click on Legal Internet databases for other links to state and federal sites.

    Library Services for Attorneys:Circulation

    Circulation

    Circulating materials include most treatises, government documents and audio and video materials. Circulating materials can be checked out for two weeks and renewed for an additional two weeks. See our Circulation Policy for information on non-circulating materials.

    Attorneys and judges within the six-county area of Pulaski, Faulkner, Jefferson, Lonoke, Perry and Saline counties can check out circulating and overnight materials. Arkansas attorneys and judges outside the six-county area who obtain a library card can check out circulating materials (but not overnight materials.) Attorneys will be asked to show identification and provide an Arkansas Bar number before receiving circulation privileges

    Call the Circulation Dest at 501-324-9444 for assistance.

     

        

      Join us on FACEBOOK

      Services for Attorneys:Document Delivery

      Document Delivery

      Document Delivery is a not-for-profit service which provides photocopies of material owned by the library to patrons, primarily to the central Arkansas legal community. Document Delivery requests will be filled, subject to any copyright restrictions, within two business days Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., except on staff holidays. Copyright permission must be obtained by the library before the request may be filled. If a significant delay is expected, the requestor will be notified concerning the status of the request.

      Documents may be delivered by postal mail, fax, e-mail (if a PDF version of the document is available), or may be picked up in person at the Circulation Desk. There is a charge of $12 per citation on all requests, plus possible delivery charges and any copyright fees requested by the publisher for the document. Delivery charges are as follows: $0.10 per page for copies extending beyond 20 pages for library pick-up and $0.25 per page for copies extending beyond 20 pages for items that are delivered. Patrons may request a price quote prior to making a request.

      Please contact Jeff Woodmansee to place a request or for more information regarding this service.

      Interlibrary Loan

      If the Library does not own a book or periodical, or if an item is otherwise unavailable, we can attempt to borrow it or have copied pages sent from another library upon your request via ILL. Pulaski County attorneys and judges can usually borrow a book or obtain a copy of an article from another library free of charge. Occasionally, the lending library charges a fee. If this is the case, the charge is passed on to borrowers. Please contact Professor Jeff Woodmansee (501.324.9991) to request an item.

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip