Before You Begin Your Research
After you have chosen a paper topic:
- Begin your research early.
- Make an appointment with a reference librarian to discuss possible research avenues.
- Ask follow-up questions.
- Remember that we will acquire material for you from other libraries at no charge to you.
- Remember that we have access to UALR main library's, Ottenheimer Library's databases.
- Only librarians should be your information source concerning what our library has or does not have.
Interdisciplinary paper topics occasionally require asking for interlibrary loans, which means borrowing books or other materials or requesting copies of articles from other libraries.
- Contact Jeff Woodmansee, Reference Librarian, if you need an interlibrary loan.
- Jeff's contact information: Phone: 324-9991, Room 131 in the library. Email: jbwoodmansee@ualr.edu.
Database Tutorials
Using tutorials can help make your searches efficient.
- JSTOR TutorialExplains the basics: stop words, advanced searches, boolean searching, limiting searches by discipline, limiting searches by date, saving searches for future retreival. Gives an email address for help.
- EbscoHost TutorialExplains all aspects of advanced searching in EbscoHost databases.
Interdisciplinary Databases
Students & Faculty: Use your T number to access databases when you are not in the UALR School of Law.
- UALR Ottenheimer Library (Main Campus) Databases. UALR Community.Provides links to Academic Search Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, JSTOR, SocINDEX with Full Text, PsycINFO, newspapers, and many others. Databases are listed alphabetically and by subject.
- Academic Search Complete. UALR Community.A comprehensive multidisciplinary database that provides full-text periodicals and scholarly journals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. It provides indexing and abstracts for over 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications, including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Updated daily.
- Marcus P. Zillman's Academic and Scholar Search Engines and Sources -- An Annotated Link CompilationAn annotated guide to academic search engines which purports to, in their words, offer "the latest and most significant academic and scholar search engines and sources."
- Criminal Justice Collection. UALR Community.Provides full text news articles, magazine articles and at least 150 academic journals.
- Databases. UALR Law Library. UALR Community.Our library's list of databases includes authoritative nonlegal databases from Academic Search Complete, Annals of American History, EbscoHost, Encyclopedia Britannica Online, Gale, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Most are available onsite for attorneys and the public.
- Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest). UALR Community.Selectively indexes doctoral dissertations from 1997 to date. Ask librarians about sources for earlier dissertations.
- Expanded Academic ASAPA multidisciplinary database covering that provides scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers for 1980 to date.
- Gale Databases. UALR Community.Gale's databases include the Agriculture Collection, Criminal Justice Collection, Environmental Studies Policy Collection Psychology Collection, Popular Magazines, General Reference Center Gold, and General OneFile.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a free search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature in great range of formats and disciplines.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection. UALR Community. JSTOR offers full-text content from over 1,000 leading academic journals of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides selected monographs in addition to over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
- Lexis Nexis Academic. UALR Community.
UALR Ottenheimer Library Databases by Subject
- Databases by SubjectMultiple UALR libguides listed by subject. Thirty-nine categories with many subtopics. The libguides provide direct links to the UALR Ottenheimer Library's databases.
UALR Ottenheimer Library's Online Catalog
If you already have a citation you can search the catalog and determine whether UALR has a title and in what kind of format.
- UALR Ottenheimer Library CatalogUALR may have books of interest. If law students or faculty want to check out UALR Ottenheimer Library's books they should inquire at our Circulation Department about how to get access to book checkouts at the Ottenheimer Library.
Subject Guide |
UALR Law Library Reference Desk
Phone: 501.324.9970
E-mail: lawreference@ualr.edu
The Library is open 7 days per week. We have no Saturday reference service during summers. Our library and reference desk hours are posted on our webiste at http://ualr.edu/law/library/library-hour
Reference Desk Hours for Students during semesters when classes are in session:
- Monday - Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
- Friday - Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
- No Saturday reference service during summers
Students: Please contact us for questions or an appointment to discuss your paper or project.


Loading...
